Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors

Presently the members of the Board of Supervisors are:  

Larry Schellhammer, Term expires: 12-31-2022
Dan Byrnes, Term expires: 12-31-2022
Dennis Koenig, Term expires:  12-31-2020

Contact the Board of Supervisors:
Phone: (563) 568-3522                                                                           

Email group at:

Email individually:                                                                            

                                                                                                           Left to right:  Dennis Koenig, Dan Byrnes, Larry Schellhammer

Larry Schellhammer:

Dennis Koenig: 

Dan Byrnes: 

March 19 Iowa Flood Center presentation RE: Upper Iowa Drainage District

Ordinance LV (amended 6/12/17) - All-Terrain Vehicles or Off-Road Utility Vehicles on Secondary Roads

FY20/21 Property tax levies

FY19/20 Property tax levies

FY18/19 Property tax levies

FY17/18 Property tax levies

FY16/17 Property tax levies

FY15/16 Property tax levies 

2020 Committee Assignments

Larry Schellhammer, Chairperson Board of SupervisorsDan ByrnesDennis Koenig, Chairperson Pro-Tem

NEIA Community Action Executive Board

NEIA Regional Housing Trust Fund
Board of Directors of Judicial District Dept. of CorrectionsNEIA Community Action Transit Board28E Board
Allamakee County Economic Development Executive BoardNortheast Iowa Area Agency on AgingT-21 Advisory Board

Northeast Iowa Juvenile Detention Board

Allamakee County Substance Abuse BoardDECAT Empowerment
Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission Executive BoardIowa Workforce Development BoardNortheast Iowa Behavioral Health Board
Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund, AlternateAllamakee County Board of HealthNortheast Iowa Response Group
T-21 Policy Board

Allamakee County E911 Board

Allamakee County Conservation Board
Resource, Conservation & Developement Board (RC & D)Allamakee County Revolving Loan fundRegional Upper Explorerland Revolving Loan Fund
Upper Explorerland Regional Planning CommissionAllamakee County FarmAlternate:  Board of Directors of Judicial District Dept. of Corrections
County Social Services Board of Directors, AlternateUpper Iowa Watershed Management AuthorityCounty Social Services Board of Directors
Alternate:  NE IA Juvenile Detention Board

Upper Explorerland Regional Housing Authority Board

All board members represented on the following boards/committees:
      Emergency Management
      Conference Board
      County Economic Development
      Roadside Management
       Solid Waste
      Planning & Zoning Board

The Allamakee County Board of Supervisors is a three-member board. In Allamakee County the Supervisors are elected at large.

The Board of Supervisors meets every Monday starting at 9:30AM with 10 minutes for public comment followed by the agenda, and the meeting lasts until all business is done. Also the board meets as needed for special circumstances. The agenda is posted at the Courthouse by Friday at 9:30 am and also on the Allamakee County Web page. To get on the Supervisors Agenda, you need to contact the Auditors Office by 3:00 PM Thursday, before the Monday meeting.

Besides having a scheduled Monday meeting, each Supervisor sits on other Boards throughout the County, area Counties, and State. Each takes an active part for promoting and protecting the citizens of the county. SEE LIST OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS ABOVE.

Duties of the Supervisors are:

• Adopting a county budget. This is done every January with each department head having input.
• Responsible for the construction and maintenance of the county’s road/bridge system.
• Levies taxes to raise revenues for county purposes.
• Attending meetings for county representation.
• Union negotiations.




**DURING COVID-19, Attendance/Group size in the Board room will be limited/restricted

To call in: 563-568-3522 and ask to be transferred to Supervisors

If you wish to participate via ZOOM meeting:

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 840 6581 6434               Passcode: Call 563-568-3522 for Passcode 


Call to Order

Pledge of Allegiance


9:30 am     Approve Today’s Agenda and Minutes of November 30, 2020


                  Public Comment


9:40 am     Discussion/Comments regarding 2020 Comprehensive Plan

                  Consider resolution adopting Allamakee County Official Comprehensive Plan


            Consider signing NPDES (Discharge Permit) for the Public Safety Center

Consider Weed Commissioner’s 2020 Report


9:50 am     Discuss/Consider 2021 County holidays

                  Manure Management Plan update – Grove #5

                  Discuss/Consider Memorandum of Understanding with OCIO defining relationship between OCIO and the counties


                  Discuss/Consider any other COVID-19 related items

Department Head updates





WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 9, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.



The Allamakee County Compensation Board will meet

On Wednesday, December 9, 2020 at 9:00 am

In the Board of Supervisors Room

to discuss elected official’s salaries for FY21/22


Board of Supervisors are invited to attend, as well as all other elected officials




Meeting ID: 853 6152 8426                                        Passcode: Call 563-568-3522 for Passcode